fried green tomatoes

I’ve recently decided that I really dislike gyms. I think they serve a good purpose and are functional, of course, but they aren’t really my cup of tea. Last year when I ran the Chile Pepper 10k there was a 2-week free gym membership. Since I run outside and have some free weights at home, I don’t have any need of a gym. This one, however, does have tanning. So, you are free to judge me, but I’ve been going to the gym just to darken myself up a little. In going there, I’ve been reminded of exactly how much I love running outdoors. Free and in nature. Not holed up in a windowless room with televisions, music blaring, and dudes checking themselves out in the mirror.

On to a culinary delight I’ve never had before, until a few weeks ago. What kind of southern gal am I, to never have had fried green tomatoes before? (I dislike sweet tea with a fierce passion…and I realize that makes me a bad southerner). Anyway, these gems came out of the garden of my mother, the farmer. 

I sliced them up, and it takes a little extra work, slicing green tomatoes, vs. red because they are pretty hard. Not soft and mushy like red tomatoes. Sprayed one side with a some cooking spray, sprinkled with seasoning salt (Crazy Jane’s is a favorite. Cavendar’s-the Greek seasoning salt is also wonderful), and slid into a fiery hot pan.

Just let those little guys hang out and soften. I covered them with a lid to speed up the process. The thicker the slices, the longer it takes for them to break down and caramelize, but given enough time, that’s what will happen. They’ll be soft and slightly sweet and full of flavor. 

They’re good plain, or with some feta sprinkled on top. I also don’t recommend eating too much…unripe foods can cause a little stomach disruption, if you know what I mean:)

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment