botswana

This fantastic little guy was caught earlier this week. (And by fantastic, I mean a fantastically huge nuisance…) He had been digging deep holes throughout the yard looking for grubs.

We didn’t eat him, he was not the meat in our Botswana meal. I won’t tell you where he ended up.

Last night we went on a little trip to Botswana, where my brother was all summer. And by “little trip” I mostly just mean he fixed us Botswanan food: beef and cabbage, pap (pronounced “pop”), and corn. The beef was marinated in a soy sauce, garlic, ginger, and pepper sauce, and the cabbage was cooked with onions and tomatoes. Very unique flavors and very African. Actually, it is eating every last bit with your fingers that makes it authentically African.Pap is a Botswanan variation of the typically African cornmeal mush. I say mush because that really is what it is-cornmeal cooked in boiling water until it is congealed and mashed easily. We had it in Tanzania with almost every meal, except there it was called ugali.

 

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

