eggs and olives

We’ve started a new menu at work, and by new I mean we just added a bunch of new stuff. Shrimp pizza, a portabella reuben sandwich. But the best off all is a tapenade that goes on top of cheesebread. Last week the kitchen was prepping all the new stuff and I got to try the olive-trio spread. It was SO good, I could have eaten a bowl of it just by itself. When we tried it on top of the cheesebread, cooked, I actually liked it less-cold and plain, or on top of a cucumber, it was a lot better.I asked how much I would have to pay for just a side of the tapenade. They asked, how many people are you trying to serve? What are you making? I sheepishly explained, no no, it was just for me. I just wanted to eat it by the spoonful. Is that a bad thing to admit? I was graciously given a rather large portion for free. Thank you!And I did eat it by the spoonful. On top of cucumbers, with celery and carrots. Then I had this genius idea to hollow out an eggplant and stuff the tapenade into it. The tapenade has garlic, parmesean cheese, carrots, and kalamata, green, and black olives. I think it would probably be pretty easy to make, but I don’t have exact proportions since all the work was done for me.

Tapenade stuffed eggplant boats

1 eggplant, cut lengthwise

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons tapenade

feta (optional)

Bake eggplant halves in 450 degree oven until middle is soft. Let cool. Scoop out the insides and mash until they are smooth. Mix in with the tapenade mixture. Spoon tapenade back into eggplants. Bake again for 10 minutes. Let cool. Enjoy!

*I think the tapenade tastes better cold, or at least at room temperature, which is why I think letting the eggplant cool is a good idea. When the tapenade is hot, it has a different flavor.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

