tofu and sunflowers

 

Hello giant sunflower. And I do mean giant, at 10 feet tall. They sure are cheerful. Amazingly, they seem to be thriving despite this heat. Every day it is like waking up in a steam bath. Or an oven. Or a dryer. I just try to think of how much I loathe winter and cold wind, take a deep breath and decide this is not unbearable. And then feel the sweat trickle down and decide it is preeeety darn close.

But back to something cheerful. Like good old hippie food: tofu. I’ve been accused, more than once, of being a vegetarian, a vegan, a hippie. I’m fine with any of those, except vegan (do you realize how much dairy and cheese I subsist off of? Cheese is my main protein!) But rest assured, as much as I love the soy, the tempeh, the veggies, I do love meat. No lie.

Cranberry vinaigrette tofu with feta and basil. Marinated quickly (5ish minutes, more time would have been better), grilled on the stove top, and then cooled with feta chunks and freshly chopped basil. Delicious.

Tofu is best when it has a lot of time to soak up the flavor of it’s seasonings for a long time, but grilling it and letting a little bit of char develop on the outside is a good way to expedite the process. Plus, I just love charred things. 

 

Time for Olympics. Go USA!

 

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

