thread bundles

Someone asked me recently what I wrote on a daily basis…yikes, obviously not this blog. With the recent uncovering of an old notebook of in-progress poetry and short pieces of non-fiction, I’ve been working on some of those a little bit. And I’ve also been rereading a book of e.e. cummings poetry (he is probably one of my favorite poets). So, here is a short little thing I’ve been working on, a draft really.

Thread Bundles

Fingers and toes wrapped tightly

He whispered hope into fragile ears

And kissed you quietly-leaving

The mark of promise,

His gift to you.

When the cold reality of plasma, blood, and tears

Envelops and jams up droplet-nostrils

And a throttled cry arises from fresh breathing lungs,

Then the gasping of humanity becomes your own.

The spool is wound

Bundled love now bobbing to the harmony

Of life

Welcome á la vie, little one

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

