Top runs.

Today I had one of the best runs ever. I’d say top 10, for sure. Have I ever made a concrete list of the actual top 10? No. But I am absolutely sure this would be on it. Not only did I feel good physically (not totally bogged down my the heaviness, felt light on my feet), but I had fun along the way…

For starters, I ran through a new neighborhood (new to me) and it was by far the best out of all the ones I’ve been through. It was full of huge beach, southern style houses like this one. The houses were so amazing that I ran through the neighborhood twice just to see them all again. Looking at pretty houses is one of my favorite things to do while running and it is a wonderful distraction.Southwest Pensacolahouse for sale, Southwest Pensacola 4br house for sale, Southwest Pensacola Single Family house for sale, Southwest Pensacola house for sale -

Then, as I was running, I heard and saw the Blue Angels practicing overhead. Overpoweringly loud, yes, but fun all the same.

Then, the best part: Trout Point Nature Preserve.

I was running in a neighborhood and I’d seen the sign for the preserve all week, but since the trail was wooded and sandy, and it had been raining a lot, I hadn’t ventured down it. But since today was my last day and the sun was quite bright, I knew it was now or never. I got down to the boardwalk and realized I was pretty close to the Navy base. I stopped at

this overlook and enjoyed the salty air for a minute, then continued on my way. All of a sudden, the boardwalk started shaking and I heard multiple voices yelling. Then, barely in the distance I saw an troupe of Navy guys running towards me, yelling chants in response to their leader. I was able to hop off the boardwalk into the sand just in time before getting mown over by them. I thought the boardwalk circled around back into a different part of the neighborhood, but it didn’t so I had to run back by all the Navy officers. Yay. And because of my beach jaunt I ended up running an extra mile (for a total of 9 vs. the planned 8). 

And what exactly is the best way to finish a run like that? A big bowl of frozen blueberries, cereal, Greek yogurt, and cottage cheese (I know that combo probably makes some folks gag. To me, it is HEAVEN), iced coffee, and a little Tolstoy (reading Anna Karenina and loving it). Flying home to Arkansas. Back to real life.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

