beach days

Today, I think I realized how much I have missed the beach. The ocean. The salty air and breeze. Tbe Spanish moss trees. Seashells. Fresh fish. Maybe not the mugginess. I’m not quite as dark (ok, not nearly dark enough) as I had hoped, but that’s ok. It’s all about the relaxation and refreshment.

Living at school in Florida for 2 years made me take all that beauty for granted. This morning my sister and I went to the beach and as a storm rolled in, the waves were pretty epic and playing in it made me remember that I really do love it down here.

west palm beach, photo courtesy of my sis

Ahhh, so the question is, the beach or the mountains? No! I will not choose. They are equally wonderful, each in their own way.Is this little one the best thing ever? Yes. Thank goodness that she is coming to Arkansas for a couple weeks. Aunt Lyssy will get to be obsessed with her for just a while longer. This is my favorite face of Nat’s: pursed lips, eyebrows raised. She is already a charmer.She looks like a doll. But when she gets to squirming she is anything but…she may be a little dancer in the making the way she flails her little arms.And her dad is equally great (my brother in law). He took me down to the fish market, a little shop right on the water owned by a friend of his. He got me fresh Amber Jack (I’d never had it before) and I grilled it up that night. Super simple and fresh: in a pan on the stove with a spritz of Pam and some Cavendar’s seasoning salt. Really full of flavor and not at all fishy.With spinach, roasted eggplant, broccoli, and brussels. Of course. Am I super excited to get back to the normal routine or life and work? Maybe not. Am I super excited to eat the fresh eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, and okra coming out of the garden? What a silly question. Of course.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to beach days

  1. carissa says:

    You’re so cute! Glad you’re having fun! I can’t wait to see the beach myself in just a few days!!

Leave a Reply

