salt + blue + beauty

“Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.”  ―    John MuirLittle Natalie (whom I’ve taken to calling Nat, Natalia, Natters, Natson) isn’t a place, but she is both a beauty and Beauty. And my goodness, I am in love with her. I was holding her earlier for a while and just sat and stared at her in my arms, watching every purse of her lips, every flail of her little arms, every twitch of her eyes. So little, but so so marvelous.

Started yesterday off and there was a ton of rain, so I slept in deliciously late. Went for a nice long run (8.5+ miles) in the drizzle then headed to the beach. I know I’ve been talking about the mountains a lot lately (John Muir is also quoted as saying, “The mountains are calling, and I must go”) but I remembered yesterday how much I do love the beach. The salt, the fish, the blue, the sand, the water, the heat…it is definitely it’s own special kind of beauty, and I intend to soak up every last bit while I’m here. And bake myself brown.

And speaking of fish…had scallops for the first time yesterday. And they are DELCIOUS. They were leftover from the fish market, and nobody else would touch them (much less relish the smell of them), so they were all mine. Scallops are low in calories, and “a good source of cystine, a sulfur-containing amino acid that helps form healthy skin, hair, bones and connective tissue. It is also important for proper vitamin B6 utilization, in the healing of burns and wounds, and for insulin production” (yay!).

They were already cooked and seasoned so I just threw them cold onto a salad. Hopefully there were will be lots of seafood in my future while I’m here:)We watched The Artist last night.

Well, I mostly watched it. I may or may not have fallen asleep and just enjoyed the music (it’s a silent film anyway). What I did see was creative though. For now, bike ride, then beach!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

