books of late…

If this could be mine, I would be in heaven. Really, a library like this in my house is seriously one of my life goals. Here are some books I’ve read/ am reading as of late. Good enough to share!

I was told if I liked Hunger Games, I had to read this up and coming series. The second book in the trilogy, Insurgent, just came out. It’s Roth’s first book…and you can kind of tell. But it’s still a good series (so far)…interesting concept and easy to read.

I read this in high school and am just finishing it up for a 2nd time. Refreshing, freeing, and thought-provoking.

Rereading this one too…I read it for an Advanced Grammar class in college, but it is seriously one of the most interesting books ever. It explores Bible translation on a tribal island in the Pacific. The stories are incredible and it is so interesting to see the day-by-day process of translation.

Just a good classic. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read this. It was my first Lewis book ever, and started my love for all his work (adult, children, fiction, nonfiction). So much of my childhood seems centered around these stories-and the formulations and probably foundational steps for my theology.

Reread this whole series too after the first movie came out. Mockingjay isn’t my favorite, but it is the capstone to the whole series. http://www.hogwartsprofessor.com/category/hunger-games/ This is one of the most fascinating blogs I’ve ever read and it dissects the trilogy (among many other things, the first movie included). I got on one night after I finished Hunger Games and was trapped for over an hour reading all her material!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Current read of the moment. I read Born to Run last summer and loved it. Jurek was featured prominently in that book, and this is kind of his autobiography, complete with recipes and running tips. Any runner or anyone looking for running inspiration, Born to Run and Eat and Run will do the trick!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to books of late…

  1. You should join Goodreads. 🙂

  2. Kathryn says:

    thank you alyssa! a timely post – as i am in NEED of a new read!

Leave a Reply

