farm girl

I’ve been playing farm girl the past 2 weeks. Feeding chickens, harvesting all sorts of garden goodies, gathering eggs, picking apples, watering, making zucchini bread. I’m not sure if I’m making Laura Ingalls Wilder proud (I’m not hoeing, or milking cows or goats…although I wish I had a goat to milk!), or even my mother for that matter. But nothing has died yet, and I’m still harvesting, so I count it as a small success.

There is something about a garden that is so hopeful. You plant, not knowing what the result will be. And you wait patiently and take care of what you can’t even see…you spend so much time investing in a plot of earth, weeding, watering, nurturing, and cultivating so that you can enjoy the beautiful results of that precious commodity: time. It’s not easy, it’s not always fun or pretty, but it is worth fighting for. Beauty like that is always worth fighting for.

Beets, zucchini, green beans (about a bazillion of them), tomatoes…

okra, swiss chard, banana and green peppers…

eggplant and green apples

My dad and I spent a looong time picking these apples. It was hot and I was so sweaty my sunglasses kept falling off. But I made him tell me stories to pass the time. Nothing better than dad stories.

Just a few more days until I get to bake in the sun at the beach and meet my little niece and hold her for hours!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to farm girl

  1. Mumsie says:

    Your mother couldn’t be prouder and maybe someday you will get your goat:)

Leave a Reply

