still here

Summer is well under way and in the middle of the heat and humidity classic of Arkansas, there are brief moments of coolness. There is a delicious feeling about summer, even though it isn’t the school hiatus it once was, since I’ve been out of school for a year and a half. All those sweet feelings of freedom are still there though. I kind of hope they always are. Random thoughts to follow…hydrangeas-my 2nd favorite flower (to peonies).

Aren’t these chive plants amazing? I think they are so unique and beautiful…little orbs standing tall on the end of the sprouted and now inedible chive plant. When they are cut the flowers spread and look like an explosion, like a firework.

As proof that summer really here, we’ve had the first crop of fresh blueberries. I’d say blueberries are probably one of my favorite fruits. You can always find them frozen, but they are just so frighteningly expensive that it’s been several months since I’ve had any, and to have the first ones be fresh are such a treat.

And yes, they belong on a salad just as well as a tomato or cucumber or whatever else people deem fit to belong on a salad. I know I shock people with my willingness to put just about anything on a salad, but blueberries are pretty normal. And especially good with fresh garden lettuce and zuchinni and feta. Just sayin’.

Lastly…be impressed with my mother’s incredible creativity and hard work. She painted each letter by hand for her first granddaughter’s nursery.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

