spring ardor.

“Full of fresh scents

Are the budding boughs

Arching high over

         A cool green house:
Full of sweet scents,

And whispering air…”

There is something so delicious about spring…fresh flowers blooming, fragrant herbs, and green lettuce in the garden. Peonies are my favorite flower, I’ve decided, and how perfect that there are several blooms popping up in our yard. They’re so cheerful and bulbous. And they aren’t roses. I would never complain to have fresh roses in the house (we had scads of them a few weeks ago after an event), but they’re kind of cliche. Is that a horrible thing to admit?

A sweet friend at work brought me some mango salsa last week and once I stopped eating it by the spoonful, I was able to think of something on which it would make a good topping. I grilled some tilapia in a skillet-very simplly with seasoning salt and a little bit of cooking spray. On top went the salsa (that I don’t have a recipe for…I know it has onion, tomatoes, onions, jalapenos, pineapple, and mango in it, but know no proportions. I think it is a secret recipe), and some plain yogurt. Fresh heaven in a bowl.

Alongside went a fresh little garden salad, and I mean “garden salad” very literally. A mixture of fresh lettuce and spinach from the garden, fresh mint from the patch beside the house, fresh dill, some celery and mushroom (portabella stems). Such a refreshing little salad, made better only when underneath the fish+salsa combo.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

