reeses cake

I’ve always said peanut butter goes with anything, and chocolate is one of those natural pairings. Yes, I did give up sweets and peanut butter for Lent. And for some reason I have kept making sweets for people, and they keep having peanut butter as a star ingredient. Why I have done this to myself multiple times, I’m not really sure. Maybe I’m trying to test my convictions? In any case, I can only tell you that I suppose this cake is delectable-moist chocolate cake, coated with thick, sweet peanut butter icing, and topped with a hearty sprinkling of chopped reeses candies.

4 eggs

4.5 oz. chocolate

1 1/2 sticks butter

3 1/4 cups + 2 tbs. brown sugar

2 1/4 tsp. vanilla

3 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

3 1/4 cup + 2 tbs. cake flour

1 1/2 cups plain, Greek yogurt

1 cup boiling water

Sift the flour, baking soda, and salt together; set aside. Cream the butter and sugar together. Melt the chocoalte and add it to the butter mixture. Add the vanilla. Alternate adding the sour cream and flour mixture until completely mixed. Add the boiling water and slowly stir with a spoon until combined. The mixture will be very runny. Pour into 3-9 inch round pans that have been buttered and lightly floured. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes until a tootpick comes out of the center clean. Cool 10 minutes before removing from pans.

Icing:

1 8 oz. package of cream cheese

1 1/2 cups peanut butter, creamy

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. salt

3 cups powdered sugar

1/3-1/2 cup whipping cream

Beat all ingredients together, except for the powdered sugar and cream. Slowly incorporate the sugar, when it is fully disolved, slowly add in the cream. This cake is huge-3 tall layers. 

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

