best intentions

I usually have the best intentions about blogging. As in, I’m actually going to do it and be consistent and come up with fabulous things to talk about and then time just slips away from me and poof! it’s been 2 weeks since I’ve posted a thing. I will be better.

Spring may be one of my favorite seasons. That isn’t really true, but anytime a new season comes (excepting winter) around, I’m in love with it. 77 degrees in March may be too much for some people, but I say, bring on the sunshine and potential for tan-ness, my paleness is debilitating.

 

So, here is a fun, spring-like recipe. Not really a recipe, just a meal, I guess. Grilled onions with caramelized brussel sprouts and spicy Italian sausage. I’ve been in a grilling onions phase lately and have been mixing it with a bunch of different things: pasta sauce, cheese, and chicken, chicken and fresh rosemary, and the weirdest one: (I will concede that it is a little out there) hard-boiled eggs, guacamole, and feta cheese.

So: brown your white onion in a pan until they are soft and starting to get sweet. Put the brussel sprouts in the microwave for a few minutes (depending on how many you have) until they are just soft. Cut them in half, sprinkle with a little brown sugar, and throw in with the onions and season the mixture. Slice the sausage and add to the pan. Stir and let warm together. As it warms together it will get sweet and all the individual bits will brown.

The meal can easily be enlarged so as to feed a few more folks…just know that the cooking time for everything will increase proportionately!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

