Lent in action…

So I gave up peanut butter, well all nut butters actually, for Lent. And then today at work what do I get handed? A leftover jar of peanut butter. It had been sitting on the counter to be gotten rid of, and I said something like, “let’s just get this outta here…it’s making me want peanut butter really bad!” And then my manager just gave it to me. Thanks, but no thanks!

Is peanut butter addictive? For me, yeah, unfortunately it is. I kid you not, I could literally eat an entire jar in one sitting. Nut butters can be really healthy, but they are also calorically super-dense, and a little adds up quick. I’ve realized more and more that I’m an all or nothing kind of person. Moderation is hard. Like those people who say they are satisfied with one little square of dark chocolate. So not me.

So how to deal with an addiction, an obsession, a no-holds-barred attitude? Give it up. The thing is, when I don’t eat it, I don’t really crave it. But once I have a little, I want more. And more and more and more etc. You know that verse in 1 Corinthians 10:13? The “no temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.” My way of escape is to not allow myself near the stuff…because if I try a little that way of escape just becomes more and more elusive and I let myself be overcome.

Too often when I give something up, I end up compensating with something else-a little more of this, a little more of that, and in the end have negated giving anything up in the first place. Dear peanut butter, this will not be the case in the 2012 Lent season. I am removing a major temptation in my life and you are it. Love, Alyssa. P.s.-I do miss you, don’t get me wrong. But we’re better apart!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lent in action…

  1. Lys-
    Loved this one! I didn’t realize you had posted about Lent before I did my thing about coffee (I am practicing moderation this Lent, instead of giving it up entirely.. which is honestly harder for me than just cutting it out). Props to you & praise the Lord for your perseverance.
    -kt

Leave a Reply

