roasted onion hummus

Let’s be honest here…I’m kind of ready for football season to be over. Done. No more. But hey, go out with a bang and make it fun, right? Here is a yummy hummus recipe that is simultaneously healthy, delicious, and the perfect snacky thing to have on hand for parties, salty cravings, or Superbowls.Roasting the onions gives a sweet and distinct flavor to the hummus. I usually put onions in my hummus, and I like that you can still have onion flavor without it knocking you over.

1 can of chickpeas, drained, liquid saved

2 tablespoons tahini

1 onion, roasted (450 for however long it takes to get them soft and transluscent)

2 garlic cloves, smashed

paprika, cumin, red pepper, salt and pepper to taste

herbs of choice, about 2-3 tablespoons (I used basil, cilantro, and a “summer savory” mix…parsley, lavender, thyme, or mint would also be wonderful)

Blend all ingredients together in a food processor. Add chickpea liquid to thin it out as needed. You can also sub in olive oil for a more distinct flavor here. I add the herbs after it is finished blending, so the hummus doesn’t turn green.

Perfect on carrots, celery, chips, or on top of salads!

check out my contribution to a dear friend’s blog:

http://thoughtsonetcetera.blogspot.com/

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

