Brew me a cup for a winter’s night.
For the wind howls loud and the furies fight;
Spice it with love and stir it with care,
And I’ll toast our bright eyes,
my sweetheart fair.
~Minna Thomas Antrim“Let us love winter, for it is the spring of genius.”- Pietro Aretino

I just can’t help posting these winter sunrise and summer pictures…and as much as I love a good warm cup of coffee or tea or hot chocolate, I’m giving a recipe for a delightful little salad that is quite the opposite: it is cold. But it is simple. And sometimes the simple things, like the beautiful things, are the ones that win.

Red apples (1), red onion (1/2), feta (1 cup), carrots (3 shredded), walnuts (1/2 cup) and romaine (1 head).

Chicken would make it a full meal…as would shrimp or grilled tofu. Any way you go, protein-ed or not, it is refreshing and delicious.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

