cold. cold. cold.

It’s cold here. In more ways than one…first it is freeezing here. As in, 18 degees with a windchill of 7, or something crazy like that. Secondly, I have another cold, 4th one since August, which I am very much not ok with. I know that as a diabetic I have a weaker immune system, but, frankly, this is just a little too much for me-the consummate superfood eater, runner, 8-hour a night sleeper, non-soda/caffeine/alcohol drinker…I’m healthy in every way but one it would seem.

BUT speaking of healthiness…I feel I’ve made progress in the whole balance thing. Let me explain. Since I started running my freshman year of college it has developed into a new love. But along with development-which is a good one, don’t get me wrong!-came almost an obsession with running consistently, with healthy eating, just go-go-go. That whole journey is another long story, but I wanted to focus briefly on the running aspect.

Runners tend to have the mindset of “I’ll run if it’s raining, snowing, thundering, gusting wind, if I’ve got the sniffles, a fever, or a broken toe (yes, I have done/do all those things).” I think that determination can be a really beautiful thing-fighting through unmotivation. For me though, it became the need to run 6 days a week, no matter what, with no breaks. Now, running with a head cold is “ok” to do-according to doctors. The general rule is if it is above the head-sniffles, headache, sneezing-it is ok to run. If its anywhere below-like in the chest-then it’s best to lay off for a day or two. Running off a fever is a myth, although depending on the severity of other symptoms, it might be fine.

Like I said, this is my 4th cold in nearly as many months. It seems odd, but sometimes it is easier to just run through the pain. Sometimes running actually clears  up the nasal passage (pressure points and all that). But sometimes, a break is a good thing. “It is senseless for you to work so hard from early  morning until late at night, fearing you will starve to death; for God wants his loved ones to get their proper rest.” (Psalms 135). Now, by not running, I’m obviously not going to starve, but I often fear that there will be some other negative consequence-bad blood sugars, gaining weight, feeling sluggish. But just like those verses mean that the Lord can give me dividends even in sleep, there can be much more good that comes from a day of-a total day off-than pushing through.

I know a big part of the struggle is that fear aspect, asking all those senseless what if questions. What if my blood sugars are haywire? What if I’m still hungry during the day, even having not burned a bunch of calories? Running is a blessing to me in so many ways-mentally and physically, but I certainly don’t want to take it for granted and punish my body when it is sick!

So this morning, I slept in. Considering the weather and my head cold, it was actually not a hard decision at all. One or two days off the “routine” isn’t going to kill me, I’ve realized. My recovery will be expedited by the rest.  I just have to trust that the Lord sang blessings over my body as I slept that extra 1 and 1/2 hours, and I believe He did:)

*picture from http://www.drmomma.org/. (I know nothing about this website!)

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

