gingerbread

I tried to be all festive and wanted to make gingerbread cookies. I remember making gingerbread men and women Christmas ornaments, but I don’t remember exactly if they were really gingerbread or if we just used the cookie cutters. Anyway, in that same spirit I made some gingerbread. With molasses.

Apparently its rich in iron? I subbed a couple bananas for the butter because it was going brown. I’m not sure I’d do that again. I also only used about 3/4 cup of molasses and then ran out, and subbed the last 1/4 with honey. I think overall it was a little to sticky, although it did taste for holiday-ish!

Gingerbread
Makes 1 large or 3 small loaves

1 3/4 cups all-purpose unbleached flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon ground ginger
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 medium banana
1 egg
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup molasses
1/2 cup warm water
3 tablespoons crystalized ginger, 1/2 cup raisins or other dried fruit (optional)

Combine the butter, egg, brown sugar, and molasses in a bowl and stir until combined. Mix in the dry ingredients, then add hot water and stir until just combined. It will be very glossy and thick. Bake at 350 for about 45 minutes.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to gingerbread

  1. Karista says:

    Looks delicious! I love gingerbread too. I don’t think I can get enough of it during the holidays. 🙂

Leave a Reply

