beef stroganoff

I got this recipe for beef stroganoff out of a novel in which the main character goes to work at a French bakery. It’s one of my favorites…of course its about cooking and has recipes! In the book she titles it “boyfriend bait beef stroganoff” because supposedly it is so good as to work as bait for boyfriends. No worries, I just made it for my family. But if I make it again for someone else…you’ll know what’s up:) I modified the recipe a little bit, from what I imagine is just a basic stroganoff recipe. Of course I didn’t follow a recipe exactly… I used about a pound of skirt steak, cut into little strips, relatively all the same size. I heated a big skillet (on medium high) with a bit of butter and a bit of olive oil (the combo is really good and silky tasting) and cooked the steak for about 5 minutes-not all the way through with a little bit of pink left in it. Then I took them out and put them on some paper towel to let some of the liquid drain off. 

Then I added a little bit (just a teensy bit-there was still a lot of liquid from the steak) more butter to the skillet and added 3 small white onions that had been sliced thin. I let those cook down for about 7-10 minutes, until soft. While those were cooking, I whisked 3 teaspoons of cornstarch with 1 1/2 cups of beef broth. Once the onions were soft I poured the broth in and stirred. Once the onion mixture had started to thicken I added I can of cream of mushroom soup and a few tablespoons of Dijon mustard.  Then I added the meat back in as well as a couple handfuls of frozen green peas. I set a lid on it and let it simmer until the meat had cooked through and tenderized. Then I served it over egg noodles. The flavor really has a lot of depth to it from all the layers and time taken to develop each one.

It was actually really easy and really delicious. And super easy to make vegetarian…I made a smaller version using fake meat for the vegetarian sister ( I also replaced the mushroom soup with sour cream because she doesn’t like mushrooms…plain yogurt would also have been a great sub). Try it yourself…maybe it will bring you a boyfriend/girlfriend/something equitably wonderful.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

