apple pumpkin bread

Hope everyone had an enjoyable and refreshing Thanksgiving break and got to spend lots of time with friends and family eating and having fun. I worked on Black Friday, and all I can say is, thank the good Lord that I am not in retail! I saw so many bleary-eyed and half-dead folks come in for lunch and they kind of looked miserable. I am not a fan of shopping… much less when there is the possibility of being bludgeoned!

Here is a yummy, healthy bread that combines 2 perfect Fall flavors: apple and pumpkin (with a hint of orange!). Expect lots of pumpkin because we just brought in our decorative pumpkins when we decorated for Christmas and will now be baking them and freezing lots of pumpkin.

A few things about this bread…I always leave the peel on apples, especially when I bake. Why lose all that flavor and all those nutrients? Since I chopped them first thing, I didn’t want them to brown, so I zested a ton of orange on them-which not only kept them from browning, but gave a wonderful orange punch. The pumpkin acts as both a flavoring agent and it replaces the oil…if you find the dough is too stiff, add more pumpkin. 

3 cups flour

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. ginger

1 1/2 cups sugar (I used 1/2 real brown, 1/2 Splenda, 1/2  real white)

3 eggs, beaten

1 1/2 cup pumpkin

2 cups apple, washed and chopped

zest of 1 large orange

1/2 cup nuts of choice (optional)

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to apple pumpkin bread

  1. oh my gosh, double yum!!! i love the big chunks of apples u can see in the bread! thanks for the recipe, i’m not so hot in the baking department, but i’m hoping it will turn out as good looking as urs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

