pumpkin: 2 ways

Last night, I was in a baking mood. I thought I would bake some stuff and take it to work today as a pre-Thanksgiving treat, but then I experimented with the recipes and didn’t want to take something that I wasn’t quite sure how people would react to it. So, I’m forcing my family to eat them instead… 

Running since the half marathon has not been exactly what I hoped for, although I wasn’t super sure what to expect. My hip and heel had really been bothering me before the race because of my shoddy shoes. For the race they performed really well-I’m constantly amazed by how much my body can give when I ask a lot of it. Monday I couldn’t run at all-so I hobbled for 2 seconds before realizing that wasn’t going to work at all, then walked/ellipticized(my bro’s and my term for using the elliptical). Yesterday, in my new shoes I started out walking then tried trotting and found it actually hurt less. So I went incredibly slow but was able to go for about 6 miles. The new shoes cause my stride to be basically the same as my huaraches, but give me a little extra protection from rocks. Today was about the same-6 more miles and a little biking. Hopefully the recovery is swift!

Drew and I at the finish!

So, back to pumpkin. First, there was cranberry pumpkin bread with a punch of orange. I subbed bananas/extra pumpkin for oil and eggs and used less sugar because of the natural banana sweetness. Egg would have helped stabilize it better so it wasn’t so pudding-like. It was still good, and plenty sweet, but I would have preferred it to be more bread-like. I specifically used cranberry sauce because I was trying to use some leftovers up. If you do use eggs and oil, I would recommend doubling the sugar. 1 1/2 cup. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 1/2 tsp. salt

pinch of cinnamon and cloves

2 eggs (I used 2 1/2 bananas)

3/4 cup cranberry sauce

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 can pumpkin (about 1/2 cup)

1 tbs. orange zest

optional:

1/3 cup oil

crushed walnuts (I added some)

Sift the dry ingredients, beat the wet. Add dry into wet. Bake for 35 minutes at 350.

 Pumpkin Nutella Snack Cake. I made no subs here…other than halving it. So good-but be warned, it is RICH!2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon fresh nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1 cup Nutella

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9-by-13-inch baking pan with cooking spray. Set aside.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter and sugars until smooth. Beat in the egg and vanilla until well blended. Add the pumpkin puree. Reduce speed to low, and mix in the flour mixture until just combined.

4. Spread batter evenly into the prepared pan. Drop tablespoons of Nutella all over the pumpkin cake batter. Swirl in the Nutella with a knife. I wanted the Nutella to stay towards the top, to act as the frosting, so I swirled gently.

5. Bake for about 35-40 minutes or until the sides pull away from the pan and a toothpick comes out clean. Place cake on a wire rack and cool completely. Cut into squares and serve.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

