artichoke spinach dip

Arkansas weather is absolutely crazy. One day I’m wearing leggings and sweaters, carrying around my portable space heater, and the next I’m wearing shorts and a t-shirt. I’m not going to complain by any means, don’t get me wrong. This week begins a “taper” week in which I run 1 less mile every day until Saturday when I’m not going to run at all because on Sunday, drumroll please, I’m running the Tulsa half-marathon. AHHH!

A couple weeks ago we had a tub of spinach dip in our fridge and I was constantly drawn to it…and it is so easy to assume it’s healthy-it has spinach and artichokes in it-what could be so bad about it? Bites, licks, and tastes  often add up to consuming a lot more than I intend to and I justify it by thinking, oh but it was spinach and artichokes…surely there wasn’t much “other” stuff. Have you ever read the back of one of those tubs? Not exactly cheerful stuff.

So, I decided to make my own. And it has only 5 very easily pronounceable ingredients: spinach, yogurt, artichokes, onions, and goat cheese. 7, if you count salt and pepper.

 For one big serving:

1 1/2 cup frozen, thawed spinach

2 tablespoons goat cheese

1/4 cup plain or Greek yogurt (Greek is thicker and higher protein)

2-3 tablespoons chopped onions or scallions

4 artichoke hearts, squeezed of can liquid and chopped

salt and pepper to taste

Heat spinach, add yogurt, cheese, artichokes and onions. Season accordingly. Enjoy alone or with chips! If you like it creamier and not quite as chunky, double the yogurt and cheese. Don’t worry-it’s still super healthy.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

