I just wanna be dry…

Can we just please talk for one little bitty minute about how much it has been raining? Rain isn’t something that keeps me from running–not if it isn’t freezing cold or crashing thunder (well, not too often anyway…). I come inside and think,  I just want to be dry. I am shriveling into a human prune. A shriveled Alyssa is never a good thing. Ok! Moving on. To cheerful, body and soul warming flatbread. Not just any flatbread…homemade yeast dough with pears, caramelized onions, and feta. Yuuuum. Let’s see, what is there to say? This is super easy dough-just mix and let rise. No rolling required. The toppings come together in a flash but taste gourmet. This thing looks gourmet, but it is SO so easy. And you’re thinking, shut up, already. Stop telling us how the dough is crusty yet soft, how the juicy pear mixes perfectly with the sweetened onions and salty feta, stop telling us how this will be our favorite new appetizer/side dish/main dish–just give us the recipe already! Just stay calm. Here it is:

1 package yeast

1 cup warm water

1 tsp. sugar

2 1/2 cup flour

1 tsp. salt

1/4 cup olive oil

1-2 white onions, sliced thin

2 large pears, slice thin

1/2 cup crumbled feta

Stir the yeast, water, and sugar and let it sit to dissolve completely while you get the flour and salt mixture ready. Slice your onion. Mix the yeast water, flour mixture, and olive oil together. I mixed by hand with a wooden spoon for a couple minutes until a smooth, elastic-y ball formed. You can also use the mixer, but I think by hand is easier. Place the dough ball into an oiled bowl and let rise for an hour in a warm spot (near a heating up oven/stove top; I put mine near the dryer that was drying clothes!)

Caramelize your slices onions…basically just oil a skillet and plop the onions in there on medium low heat until they are translucent and soft. If you want to sweeten them up a little more, you can add a pinch of sugar. Slice the pear and heat the oven to 450.

After the dough has risen, drop onto an oiled baking sheet and form a long rectangle (or whatever shape you prefer-I like the long look, personally). Spread the dough with the onions, cheese and pear. I’d give it another spray/drizzle of oil to make sure the feta doesn’t burn. Bake for about 20 minutes, until the crust turns golden brown. Enjoy!!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I just wanna be dry…

  1. alice peiser says:

    Haven’t commented lately…but just wanted to say that since I am usually a taste tester of these goodies…this one is right on!:)

  2. OH MY GOODNESS….that flatbread looks incredible, you are making me drool big time!!

Leave a Reply

