African meatloaf

Growing up we didn’t have meatloaf…not really-not the classic American meatloaf served with potatoes and carrots. Instead, we had exotic sounding and tasting bobotee, an African meatloaf dish with dried fruit and curry.   I made it last night for dinner, experimenting with ground turkey instead of beef. I think, actually, that the beef has more flavor because the turkey is lighter and less fatty.  Step 1: mix 1 lb of ground meat (I recommend beef, but turkey works just fine) thoroughly with 1 tsp. curry powder, 1 tsp. sugar, 1 tsp. salt, and 1 tsp. vinegar. Do this before adding in the onion and egg to make sure the spices really get incorporated.Step 1 1/2: Soak 2 slices of bread (any kind) in 3/4 cup milk. I tore the bread into pieces to help it soak faster and be easier to mix later. Let it sit and fully soak while you get everything else ready.Step 2: Beat 1 egg and chop onion medium onion (depending on how much onion you want) then mix together with the spiced meat and milk-saturated bread.Step 3 (optional): add 1/2 cup raisins or other preferred dried fruit. I did some research on this dish one time and found currants were popular. I certainly recommend the addition, but the dish is also delicious without!Step 4: Press into a loaf pan and add bay leaves. Cook for 50-60 minutes at 350. It will get juicy and seem like it’s sitting in liquid, but once you take it out and let it sit, the loaf will soak it up and be juicy-not dry. The raisins plump up and burst in your mouth-the perfect contrast to the spicy curry and rich meat.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to African meatloaf

  1. Brian says:

    I’m not sure how I feel about raisins in meatloaf, but the rest sounds very good – I’ll definitely have to try it sometime!

Leave a Reply

