pumpkin + cream cheese

I just can’t stay away from pumpkin…it’s like my fall through winter destiny to be obsessed with it and then mellow out from it’s influence and not eat it once the first warm hints of spring come along.I know I said trying to capture the fall beauty was futile, but I couldn’t help myself today and tried. Anytime it rains or the wind blows I’m always so scared that all the leaves are going to blow off and then the landscape will be bare, stark, and depressing. I just want those little leaves to hold on as long as they can!

Back to the pumpkin business. I tend to stay away from the bar/cookie/brownie realm just because of the proclivity for these items to be high carb and high sugar. This recipe is shockingly low in carbs…only 6 per serving.  

These little pumpkin babies are moist, soft, and rich. Mashed banana is one of my favorite substitutes for egg, not because egg is bad, but because it gives it a pillowy-ness and uses up ripening banana!

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bars

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 banana
  • 3 T brown sugar
  • 2 T Splenda
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2 T  milk
  • 2 T oil (I actually used tahini because the coconut oil had black fuzzies growing on it…)
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine dry ingredients, then add in wet. Spread into an oiled 8×8 pan and cook for 20 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes before cutting.

Optional frosting: cream cheese and cool whip beat together and sprinkled with pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon.

Without frosting, cut into 14 pieces: 36 calories, 6g carb, trace amount of fat (around 1g)

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

