apple pumpkin stoup

Yeesh, it’s been awhile. I took a little hiatus from the blogging business for a bit…to cook and bake and not be thinking about what I needed to write about it, or trying to photograph, or come up with something substantial/clever/useful. So the time off was refreshing, with many delicious eats, and I think I’m ready to jump back in.

Fall here is in full swing…beautiful leaves, crisp air (sometimes a little too crisp), warm aromatic smells in the kitchen. The changing trees are something I always endeavor to photograph before admitting my camera cannot adequately translate the trees’ beauty into a still image. Sometimes I selfishly think the glory of the foliage is just for me, a postcard in my mind to savor in the moment, but not to try and document.

But delicious fall dinners? Those I can document. I was asked about pumpkin + apples for vegetarians. So I threw a bunch of stuff in the crockpot this morning and ended up with this for dinner: Pumpkin apple soup with lentils. It was a little bit more of a stoup-a mix between a stew and a  soup. It was very fall-ish, so I can check that off the list of things it was supposed to be, vegetarian, and it was well-accepted by both the family and Bible study! Here’s the approximate recipe:

1 big white onion

3 medium apples

3 medium carrots

1 can pumpkin

4 cups (maybe more/less) chicken stock

3-4 cups lentils

1 big red bell pepper

Throw into the crockpot and simmer away! I seasoned with salt, cinnamon, and a bit of curry.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

