chili fall nights

It has descended from beautiful fall temperatures into freezing coldness. In the span of 2 days we went from 80s to 20s. I just think that is not nice. I have to wear leggings, a jacket, a hat, and gloves now to run. No thank you.

And with this cold weather, I have to have warm food. I made some modified chili-low carb style (beanless and cornless). Put chock full of green pepper and tomato from our garden, a squirt of sugar free ketchup, crumbles, and lots of chili powder and cumin.Full of spice and natural warmth (hello jalapenos!).And to cool off some of that heat, plain yogurt, cheddar cheese, and cilantro.Toppings are definitely half the reason I eat the soup in the first place. Stay warm friends!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to chili fall nights

  1. JesseBlythe says:

    hey Alyssa! this is Jesse from the townhouse. I whipped up a vegan Halloween chili (orange sweet potato, white cauliflower, black beans, tomato, & onion heehee! ah man I should’ve added pumpkin but the pan was bursting already) tonight and thought of you, and wanted to put in a test kitchen request for you! Could you come up with some sort of hearty stew that features sweet potatoes and apples? Perhaps vegetarian, but with protein? I guess you could add cannelini beans and rice or something! Also, does your blog have a How To article on how to pick and cut up and wash and cook a whole pumpkin like you do? I am so intimidated by those ginormous squashes that I never buy them although I lust past them as I enter the produce section. Hope all is well with you girl!

    • thegypsycook says:

      Sure! I’d love to do that, it sounds fun:) I haven’t been using whole pumpkins or squash but they are easy to do-so for sure I will to a “how to.” Your lust will be abated.

Leave a Reply

