roll a pumpkin

I wouldn’t go so far as to say that pumpkin rolls are the ultimate in pumpkin cuisine, by far, but it certainly is a classic-and a tasty one too. I made this yesterday for my younger brother and some of his college friends…all such wonderful young men. They were our evening entertainment…the least I could do was bake something.Something I’ve learned about pumpkin rolls–they are sticky little things, so you absolutely must grease your pan, the wax paper, the towel, everything the cake is going to touch! I baked it on a jelly roll pan (following the exact recipe on the back of the Libby’s Pumpkin can), turned it onto a towel, rolled it up, and let it cool. Then I unrolled it and spread it with cream cheese frosting. Be sure to leave a border so the frosting doesn’t squeeze out.Then I re-rolled it up and dusted with powdered sugar. Because see how sad it looks with pieces of cake missing (that stuck to the towel)?Ohhh. Much better now.Om nom nom. If I was going to make this for me to actually eat, then  I would definitely make some changes-less sugar.  Waaay less sugar. I tried a bite of this and it was overwhelmingly and grossly sweet. I’ll experiment soon, but not today.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

