10k tales

Whew! We did it. Chile Pepper 10k, check. I can’t say it was much of an epic race for me…kind of a cacophony of errors that led to a decent, but not fantastic race. Because of the events of last week I felt exhausted, which led to a cold and so my body was physically just not there. I also was psychologically discouraged because after months of training, I wasn’t able to run in my huaraches. Oh well, I finished and in a respectable time. But there were lots of really GOOD things that happened too. Like…

-My dad ran his first race in 40 years and did an awesome job-2nd in his age group. Hopefully this leads to many more races:)

 -My brother ran his first 10k race and got 2nd in his age group. He runs for his college team but the team didn’t come so he just ran unattached. So proud of these 2 men.

 -I got to cheer on friends who were also running. My brother was able to jump in the last 100 yards or so and get me to the finish line; I had the joy of jumping in with one of my friends after I finished and encouraging him on to the finish. I’ve never gotten to do that before!

-Post-race benefits: free food. I’m not much of a bar eater-usually they are pretty high carb-but I snagged a bunch of these minis for the rest of my family. Luna, Clif Bar, and Mojo are all super nice, expensive brands, so I loaded up on them along with some fresh fruit (which I do eat)

 

Other post-race food…green bean salad. My Aunt made this when we had a family dinner earlier this week and it was so good it inspired me to make my own. I made it once for Bible study Thursday then made more for dinner last night. It is really easy and could be substantial enough for a meal. To keep it extra low-carb, you could always just omit the beans, or eat around them.

 1 can bean salad (wax and green beans, red beans, garbanzos), drained

1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained

2 cups cherry tomatoes, sliced

1 can black olives, drained (my Aunt also used green-my favorite-but we didn’t have any)

½ purple onion, thinly sliced

2 cups green beans (I used thawed frozen, but canned would also work)

1 medium cucumber, diced

1 bunch fresh basil, chopped

Raspberry vinaigrette dressing (enough to coat the salad lightly)

Sprinkle of Splenda

Salt and pepper to taste

 Mix all the ingredients together-the longer they sit, the better they taste!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

