southern comfort

These past 3 days have been filled with lots of tears, laughter, good food, reminiscing, and beautiful runs. The balance of all those things is what made the time in MO with family fun and memorable.

We got to go back to my Grandmama’s home town and see all the fun family museums and gardens. One of my favorites is the rose garden where there are a ton of different kinds, including my favorite, the Audrey Hepburn (a hybrid tea rose):

Our first night there, we had a big dinner at my Uncle’s with smoked turkey and green bean salad and bread pudding. The next day I had some of the veggie leftovers in an “everything but the kitchen sink” salad.

We stayed about 45 mintues away from Centrailia, the small small town where the funeral stuff was. Classic small town. Cute houses, lamposts lining the drive.

We ran at a beautiful trail just a minutes from my Uncle’s, the Katy Trail. It was incredibly beautiful, bluffs, a river, tree-lined paths…pretty much the fall idyll of a running trail.

After the visitation my whole family went to my cousin’s restaurant. I got the southwest chicken salad which came with grilled onions and peppers, olives (my new obsession!), and a salsa dressing and a side of steamed broccoli. The waiter asked if I wanted the broc without the clarified butter (based off my detailed salad order…). I thought that was super nice of him! Since it was 9 at night and I was sooo hungry, I also snagged a few sweet potato fries from my brother and a few bites of spinach artichoke dip from my sisters’ appetizer.

The funeral was held at my Grandmama’s church, the same church my parent’s got married in.

The day was actually beautiful and the service was just perfect. My brother and I did a joint reading and we sang some of her favorite hymns-some of the last words she said were the lyrics to old hymns. My mom and 2 sisters and I all have gold-piece necklaces from Mexican pesos that my Papa got a long time ago. We thought it was an appropriate time to wear them.

After the services we had a lunch provided by the church in their fellowship hall. Amazingly, it wasn’t all rolls, roast beef, and pie (there were at least 6 different kinds). I loaded up on veggies and wasn’t hungry for another 6 hours.

On the long drive home yesterday we did make a special stop for Happy Hour at Sonic. So worth the long drive for that and the antics of my siblings in the car.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

