double birthday

Today is a double birthday: mine and my Grandmama’s.  I’m 23 and she is home with Jesus and my Grandpa.

Because of all the stuff going on with her in the hospice place and my mom being busy birthday plans have kind have been waylaid, which is totally fine. 23 isn’t super exciting. But I did make my own birthday pie, and I’m not ashamed to say it.“Diabetic pie.” That name isn’t particularly delicious sounding, I know, but what about this? Rich creamy vanilla pudding, with banana pillows mixed in and a tart bite from yogurt all held together in a crumbly chocolate crust……finished off with sweet crushed pineapple, a smooth blanket of cool whip and a drizzle of chocolate. Banana split pie is a better name. All of that deliciousness is low calorie, low carb, and healthy for you. And in light of the past few days, I fully intend to have my pie and eat it too. Life is beautiful because of it’s brevity, but it is even more beautiful because I know there is the hope of seeing Grandmama again.Yuuuum. Here is the recipe and stats.

1 cup plain yogurt

1 tablespoon vanilla pudding mix, sugar free, fat free

1 1/2 cup cool whip, lite

3-4 bananas, sliced

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup crushed pineapple, drained

1 cup cool whip, lite

chocolate syrup

1 cookie crust

Mix the yogurt, pudding, cool whip, and vanilla together-beat it well so the pudding dissolves and it firms up. Fold in the bananas and pour into the crust. Top with the crushed pineapple and the remaining cool whip. Drizzle with chocolate and refrigerate.

For 1/8 of the pie: 180 cals, 17 carbs, 3g protein, 1g fiber.She was the beauty queen at one of the nursing homes she was in. A beautiful lady in life, she is now completely healthy and whole, which is what matters. I ran this morning with such joy knowing that.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

