special chicken

As kids, my siblings and I named a particular chicken dish my mom made us “special chicken,” I think, mostly because it was something we ate on special occasions like birthdays. Basically, it is chicken wellington-a chicken and spiced cream cheese mixture wrapped in pastry and cooked until crisp and bubbling. These days, as a mostly carb-avoider, I recreated the essence of that dish, without the pastry.This version happens to be healthier and much quicker to prepare, without sacrificing any flavor. In fact, it may have more flavor. The defining feature of my version is caramelized onions: white and purple onions cooked only soft, sprinkled with brown sugar (substitute) and then doused in balsamic vinegar. The onions cook down and become jam-like; really, almost a dessert.Mixed with some rotisserie chicken (hello easiness!), fresh basil, and creamy goat cheese, this makes a really fast and delicious dinner.Now, I won’t pretend that this next chicken dish is quite as special. In fact, it is more like “haphazard” chicken-random things I fancy at the moment all cooked together: goat cheese (duh), fresh tomatoes, olives, and leftover pizza sauce. I really hate wasting anything, so if there are 2 squeezes of pizza sauce left, I’ll save it and use it in a dish like this. It worked quite well, I’d say.And olives, I just can’t seem to get enough of you lately. I really prefer green and kalamata olives (the tangy saltiness is my favorite), but black was actually exactly what I wanted here. This dish would work really well with pasta-long spaghetti or penne.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

