stacked lunch

The last few days have been busy, busy and so the stagnation in blogging. I blame it on the beautiful fall weather. I love waking up in the mornings when it is still just a tiny bit chilly but feeling the warmth of the sun as the day goes on and knowing we aren’t doomed yet to freakishly cold temps.

Friday: stacked lunch.Everyone at work always ask what is on my sandwiches. I’m not about to pay money to eat the food there (otherwise, I feel like I’m negating my work) so I bring my own. Someone even asked me, “What is on your sandwich? I mean, what does a flexitarian put on her sandwiches?” Point for the flexi’.Bottom layer: jazzed up ricotta, followed by basil leaves, honey-smoked turkey, roasted eggplant, roasted red pepper, and another layer of cheese. All on toasted wheat bread.

Saturday: I made a German apple cake for international potluck with friends:What made it German? I’m not really sure…other than it was made in a bundt pan. And it had apples. Apple is a German word, right?It’s basically a white cake with lots of apple. It wasn’t particularly healthy because it had sugar. And flour, which is hard to get away from when baking a cake. But I did use applesauce instead of oil. It made it really moist and rich, and of course amplified the apple flavor.I don’t peel apples. Don’t worry Mom, I did wash them.

Sunday lunch: Pizza bowl.What is a pizza bowl, you ask. It is the (attempted) glory of pizza without the crust-aka carb-less pizza. I put broccoli, onions, tomatoes, black olives, mushrooms, ricotta, feta, and pizza sauce into one bowl and microwaved/baked it in the convection oven. It was a little watery and I may have burned my tongue a few times because it was really really hot, but it was pretty good. I think some hamburger would have made it better.Hope your weekend was as nice as mine!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

