working ladies

So the chicky-chicks have been busy today. This morning there were no eggs in the coop and when I checked this afternoon there were 4. One each. That’s what they’re supposed to do, but for some reason it just seems like the coolest thing. Maybe it is the coolest thing. So far, only 2 have been named Huarache (my name for one of the black ones) and Ginger (a red one, named by my red sister). Inspired by their presence, I had an egg sandwich for lunch today.I wish this was one of their eggs. But all the eggs they have been producing have been hidden away by my mother to take to my little brother who is in his first year of college. You might think he was a starving child by all the food she made for him.Toast: whole wheat, high fiber to balance out the carbs.Ricotta cheese. It looks red (on the right) because I spiced it up. Ricotta by itself can be pretty bland, so I added a whole lot of flavor: ground mustard (I added a teensy bit too much…very spicy), balsamic, and paprika. And fresh oregano and basil after I took the picture.Roasted red pepper. I leave the skins on because I like the flavor, but I know a lot of people who would get rid of it. I think it’s a personal thing.Then a fried egg. I typically like my eggs pretty runny. On a sandwich that has to sit for a while, that is a little bit harder to do, but I tried to leave it not completely cooked through. Tomorrow, I will incorporate a FRESH egg into my lunch!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

