banana bread

The weekends are my prime time, so to speak, for baking and cooking because I don’t have much time for it during the week. It isn’t like I’m subsisting off fast food and microwave meals or anything, but lunches tend to be quick and easy-almost always sandwiches because they are portable and it is easy to pack a lot of protein and nutrition between 2 slices of something, whether it is lettuce, bread, or peppers. Dinners aren’t as rushed but I usually have to prepare it in the morning to be ready at night with not much preparation left. Yesterday I made a lunch that required a fork and knife (how dignified! how refined!)It was another portobello mushroom cap that I roasted in balsamic vinegar. After about 15 minutes, I put on some shredded basil, and then a mixture of cream cheese, roasted turkey, cottage cheese, and goat cheese. I stuck it under the broiler for another 5 minutes and then greatly relished the meaty mushroom and melted cheese.I’ve decided balsamic-drenched things that are then roasted are pretty much the best thing ever (this includes eggplant). The balsamic infuses, but doesn’t overpower, and creates a sweet depth of flavor.

I also baked some banana bread with some blackening bananas. They were perfectly fine, but they were reaching that point when I was going to have to freeze them anyway, so I just decided to mash them all into a healthy snack.4 mashed bananas, plus 2 1/2 frozen ones-to account for both the bananas and the eggs. We were out of flour so I used Wondra instead, some applesauce instead of oil (although coconut oil would taste fabulous), I replaced 2/3 of the sugar with a substitute, I added cinnamon for warmth, and to one of the loaves, chocolate chips.So really, besides the regular sugar (only 1/4 cup) and the flour (which is kind of essential to bread…) it is super healthy. I like to consider chocolate chips healthy-flavanoids, right?Banana bread is only made better by the presence of chocolate. There is just no way around this.When you make this, expect it to go fast. I made these 2 loaves yesterday and I don’t think a crumb remains today.

2 cups flour (or Wondra!)

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. cinnamon

4-6 mashed bananas (If you want to use eggs, use 2 and subtract 1-2 bananas)

1/4 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar substitute

1/4 cup applesauce

2/3 cup chocolate chips

Thoroughly whisk the dry ingredients; set aside. Beat vigorously the wet ingredients. If you use frozen bananas, thaw them in the microwave for a minute and drain off the excess liquid from them. Mix the wet into dry until just mixed. Pour half into 1 small , greased loaf pan; add chips to remaining batter and stir gently. Pour that batter into another greased loaf pan and bake both at 350 for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

