Stroganoff

One time in college some housemates and I were engineering a prank, a theft really, and we went so far as to name the whole operation and came up with code names. We called it the “pole heist” (we were stealing a giant Christmas pole) and the word heist for some reason got us off on a German-themed note. On early morning runs around town we would discuss strategy and German sounding words. Both Kristoff and Stroganoff were code names.

And speaking of Stroganoff…it kind of seems a little more like a heavy winter dish, but I inadvertently made it tonight. Well, a taste-alike version anyway.I started by putting some soy crumbles in a bowl. Ground turkey or beef would work too. I added goat cheese and yogurt (not unusual) and then for some really creamy cheese, I added whipped cream cheese. Nuked for 45 seconds and the first thing I though when I tasted it was “Stroganoff!” If I had added mushrooms–which I did have–but separately, it would have been an exact imitation. I probably would forgo the noodles in either version.Comparatively, this was a super healthy, easy version. No sour cream, sodium-loaded canned cream of mushroom soup, no greasy fat from meat, but still uber-flavorful with a light richness, if that makes sense.Aaaand roasted cauliflower is always a good way to round out a meal. Always,.By the bye, the pole heist was serious fun and majorly successful. How could it not be with such awesome code names?

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

