jog vs. run

There was a recent Runner’s World article about the proclivity of news reports to refer to people injured while exercising as joggers, not runners. This is not a new distinction, in that joggers have the stigma have being fad runners. As in, they are only in it for the appearance of running. Maybe they really do get out there and move, but jogging seems to imply a halfheartedness, a lackadaisical stance.

Running, on the other hand, is serious work with a plethora of rewards. It is not just a thing to do; rather, it is a lifestyle, a mantra, the determined gait of someone who really cares, regardless of speed. Anyway, when there are news pieces about those injured folks, they are always referred to as joggers. Not runners. If they had been  running, maybe they wouldn’t have been hurt. Just a thought.

I heard tonight that Saudi treat is tahini-dipped dates. I had to try it-although I had to substitute prunes for dates. It was soooo good. Like candy. Usually, prunes are kind of too sweet and tahini by itself tastes like cement. But put the two things together…genius. Way to go Saudis on spotting a good treat.

Don’t forget the giveaway!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to jog vs. run

  1. I’ve been reading up on the pros and cons of running versus walking lately, too. I think the general consensus I have run across is: running will build up more strengths (endurance, lung capacity, etc) than walking, but walking puts less wear and tear on your muscles while still giving a good workout. Your mention of injuries while running reminded me, too, that I never knew how MANY people got hurt while running until recently. I worked a little bit of a run into my walk yesterday, just because I had all this energy to burn, but it ended up irritating my gimpy leg. I can’t really walk today. 😦 Running didn’t cause the problem, though. I can’t blame the running. 🙂

  2. thegypsycook says:

    I agree-running can cause a lot of injury, especially if it’s on pavement. I think a lot of the arguments for running (especially barefoot) is to be done on natural surfaces-not cement and concrete.

Leave a Reply

