the great pumpkin GIVEAWAY

It is starting to feel like fall, and even though I so prefer summer and all the warmth it provides me, there is something cozily delicious about (slightly, only slightly) cooler weather and of course, fall foods.

First up: GIVEAWAY!!To win this lovely and deeeelicious jar of pumpkin butter and kick off autumn (such prettier word than “fall”) on the right foot, leave a comment on any post between now and Friday. Each comment is 1 entry. Posting the blog to your Facebook, blog, twitter, etc., is another entry (lots of entry-potential going on here). To be fair, no contiguous family members (aka-if I live with you) can win, but you are still free to comment:)

Pumpkin is one of at the great loves of my life, but it is a distinctly non-spring/summer item. It is very seasonally specific. Kind of like how Christmas carols belong only between the day after Thanksgiving to New Year’s. Don’t judge me for thinking that. Back to pumpkin. For her Bible study tonight, my mom made pumpkin dip. I didn’t make it, but I probably will at some point. It is not healthy, low-carb/calories/sugar, not even with the presence of pumpkin. I never promised that I was healthy ALL the time. Balance, people. Balance.It is smooth, luscious, and a lovely shade of autumn orange. It gives you a tiny tingle in the nose from the warm spices that is balanced by a whipped creaminess and lightness (alas, it is a false lightness, but as long as you don’t feel weighted down, that is at least one point in its favor). She serves it with ginger snaps. You see two snaps in the picture above? That is because it is impossible to just dip once and naturally you need 2 separate cookies to get multiple dips in. What more is there to say? Pumpkin Dip

1 can plain pumpkin

cream cheese

powdered sugar

cinnamon, nutmeg to taste

ginger snaps, for dipping

We don’t really have a recipe other than the ingredients…just mix until you get your desired consistency.

I suppose you really could make this healthier by eliminating the sugar using light cool whip and low fat cream cheese, or even subbing in some plain yogurt. It wouldn’t be quite the same, but it would still be good. In fact, that sounds pretty good to me. I just talked myself into experimenting!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the great pumpkin GIVEAWAY

  1. Brian says:

    Pumpkin flavored desserts and lattes are some of my favorite parts of fall.

  2. bekah whiteley says:

    yes please!! i LOVE “autumn ” and all things related…cool weater (55 – 60 degrees) sweaters, jeans, my wonderful old navy sweatshirt that is falling apart, fall candles, fall festivals, hay rides, etc. Love the blog, btw!

  3. Lisa says:

    I’ll take some pumpkin love :0) Hope you’re well in other areas of life – I know for certain you’re eating well!

Leave a Reply

