kale chips

I have officially decided, if I get married my bouquet will be one big head of cauliflower, surrounded by broccoli, and festooned with kale. All raw, of course, and preferably home grown. Doesn’t that sound lovely? That way I can having something to nibble on later when I get hungry…no tossing that bouquet for me.

Raw kale is good, but I think it’s best when it is roasted. It becomes crunchy, just like chips. They get a little crumbly, but it’s all the more perfect for sprinkling on top of other things, like salad.Kale is one of those superfood greens, full of vitamin (K, C, maganese, calcium), high in fiber, and supposedly good for guarding against cancer. Just wash, spray with PAM or drizzle with olive oil, roast at 450 for about 15 minutes, and then crunch away!Don’t be disturbed by the color…it loses it’s greenness when it’s roasted, but what it loses in color, it makes up for in crunchy awesome flavor. I know, that is such a profound and intelligent sounding description-crunchy + awesome, but sometimes good nutrition is just that simple.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

