toga party

When my friends texted me and said they were having a Greek food evening, I knew just what to make. Stuffed grape leaves!I’ve made these once before, so I knew all that I had to do, but it sure did take a loooong time. Rinsing the grape leaves, cutting off the stem, cooking the rice, cooking the onions and mushrooms, mixing and cooling, rolling the leaves, steaming the leaves…labor intensive but incredibly worth the effort.Seasoned with cinnamon and dill, with some dried apricots and cranberries thrown in. Deeelicious. Other menu items included:

Panzanella (Bread salad with onions, cucumber, tomato)Feta and turkey burgers:and homemade hummus and pita (no picture). We had a lovely evening eating outside-it wasn’t too cool yet.What are those ridiculous looking things we’re all wearing? Umm, would Greek night be complete without togas? I don’t think so. Our “Greek” poses: runners, the Thinker, discus and shot put, archer. Who knows? Lovely, wonderful evening!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to toga party

  1. Christa says:

    Such a fun night….so glad you could come!! And the stuffed grape leaves were amazing!!! could you email me those pics when you get a chance?

Leave a Reply

