Running Thoughts

6:30 alarm goes off. Lay in bed wishing I didn’t have to get up. In the thin line between sleepy haze and alertness, think about not running. Wake up a little more and know that I will be so much happier when I get out the door. Take blood sugar.

6:35 drink big bottle of water to get the blood flowing. Go to the bathroom at least twice. Brush teeth, lace up shoes, pitter around the kitchen.

6:50 start running. Smell a cacophony of aromas/odors-wild herbs and flowers, toast, coffee, syrup/dogs, horses, landfill; hear an equally diverse number of sounds-crickets, dogs barking at me, birds, the fading rumble of cars.

7 start running the hill, keeping a mental tally of how many times I’ve done it and how many more remain. Watch the sun rise in the sky and turn from a bright orange ball to a blazing yellow light. See deer; pretend I’m tracking deer.

7:25 change into my huaraches, check blood sugar if I had slowed down insulin or if I feel funny. Leap out and pretend that now I’m a deer. Dodge rocks, relish the breeze, focus on taking little steps. Feel alert and alive and so happy to be running.

7:55 sprint to the finish, change back into my regular shoes. Take blood sugar, adjust accordingly. Drink a protein drink (strawberry!) while checking email.

8:15 stretch, lift some weights/do plyometrics, read Bible, drink big glass of ice water. Think how glad I am that I’m up and energized for the day.

8:45 shower, get ready for the day, trying to stretch out my legs as much as possible.

9 breakfast, coffee, vitamins. Stand up and feel very creaky and old because my legs are still adjusting to new surfaces and terrain.

We babysat the cutest little boy tonight, no words necessary!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

