comfort.

Today I just felt like having a comfort meal. No, I didn’t have mashed potatoes and fried chicken. As a caveat to the phrase “comfort meal,” please know that I do not, do not do not do not! think that food should ever be eaten solely for the purposes of comforting. Food can hold nostalgia or be favorite meals because of a tradition surrounding them, but if comfort is ever the true end, food is only a temporary means of fixing it. Eating disorders and disordered eating are far too prevalent in our society to write about “comfort food” without saying so.

But I digress. I was rummaging around for lunch today and came across some canned tuna. I mixed a can up with some plain yogurt and mustard like I usually do and then I came across pickle relish in the refrigerator. So I added that too. And then without really thinking about what I was doing, I made a tuna melt-tuna salad with cheddar cheese melted on top. Usually it goes on toast, but I skipped that element.I cannot tell you the last time I had one. I mostly remember eating it as a kid after I had been sick. I’m not really sure why that was the choice meal because I wouldn’t really think of it as being particularly light for a recovering stomach. It must have been when I was recovering from a cold or something. Cheese has comforting powers I think.I’m not cold and needing to have a warming meal, or sick with the sniffles, but sometimes I think we subconsciously need comfort. Maybe it isn’t obvious or even something we can articulate. I’m not advocating stuffing our faces with carbs and sugars (this tuna melt was actually light, healthy, and comforting all in one) to alleviate anything, but sometimes we just need something familiar, whatever your familiar looks like.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

