peanut butter + chicken

The other evening my mom presented me with a jar of powdered peanut butter, a brand called PB2 (http://www.bellplantation.com). Now, I love peanut butter. Looooove it. So the option to have all the benefits of peanut butter without all the calories? I’m so there. I used to eat this kind: http://fitnutzbutter.com a couple of years ago, but finally decided it was too expensive and that at some point, I just needed to start eating real peanut butter again-you know, real food. I once tried this and it was nasty stuff. As in, I get gag reflexes just thinking about it. However, the other two powdered kinds are really good. Now, I will eat and enjoy the powdered stuff, but I’m also going to eat the real stuff too. Balance.

So, we had some leftover chicken in the fridge and I was thinking of how to jazz it up a little. Then I remembered the PB2 and decided to make peanut chicken-something I wouldn’t normally do with regular peanut butter. I scouted out some recipes online but nothing in particular was appealing, so I mixed and matched different elements of recipes I liked to create my own version.

I used 2 tablespoons of the pb powder and reconstituted it with 2 tablespoons of water. Then I added, at random curry powder, a tablespoon or so of plain yogurt, several hearty shakes of red wine vinegar, and a teaspoon or so of brown sugar substitute. I whipped it vigorously then let it sit in the fridge for a while to blend and thicken.When dinner came, I poured on top of the chicken and garnished with basil. The Thai basil plant I bought at the Green Market in West Palm Beach nearly 3 years ago sadly did not survive more 2 seasons, sadly because it would have been the perfect addition to this particular dish. I even held it on the 2 day car drive back to Arkansas, and it still didn’t last too long. But regular basil worked just as well!

Of course, regular peanut butter (especially crunchy) would work just as well and taste jut as delicious. The powdered sauce is really light, though, which wouldn’t be the case with full-fat pb, and that’s really nice in and of itself, but also because I was putting in on chicken.It’s also really good on vegetables.So glad it’s the weekend!  Enjoy yours!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

