chocolate + avocado = muffins

Yesterday when I received my beautiful cherry limeade I was in the middle of baking snacks for Bible study tonight. After making that sourdough bread that was so strict I needed to make something that I could change up the recipe a bit.  I’ve made muffins similar to this before and really loved them; they are healthy, richly chocolatey, moist, and dense. But would you expect that this: could turn into this?:The beautiful thing about avocados is that they are versatile. Foods that can swing  to both the savory and sweet spectrums and are healthy too is always going to rank high on my list of things to eat and enjoy. What makes avocados so healthy, you ask? Well, besides the obvious fat content (75% of which are healthy fats), it has more potassium than a banana-a super important thing in this hot hot weather, and it is rich in other vitamins-B among them-and fiber. So not only are avocados good made into guacamole, baked into a chicken dish, or just eaten by themselves, but they can also replace the oil and/or eggs in recipes like muffin and cakes. And you don’t taste it at all, there aren’t any green chunks (unless you don’t blend your avocado well…)3 cups flour (I used 1/2 cup almond meal, 1 cup whole wheat, 1 1/2 cups white)

6 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa power

1/2 tsp. salt

2 tsp. baking powder, 2 tsp. baking soda

2 cups sugar (I used Splenda)

3 tablespoons oil (recipe called for vegetable, I used coconut)

3/4 cup(ish) avocado-or 1 good size fruit-mashed very thoroughly

2 cups water

2 tablespoons white vinegar

2 tsp. almond extract

Sift the dry inredients; mix the wet; beat together; bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes (I add 30 for the mini muffins, 40 for the regular).

Approximately (for a regular muffin): 120 calories, 3g protein, 17g carbs, 5g (healthy) fat, 2g fiber

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to chocolate + avocado = muffins

  1. Laura says:

    Yeah! I can comment! These look so yummy and I will definitely try!

Leave a Reply

