hurricane huarache

Yesterday was the first Saturday all summer long that I haven’t worked. I didn’t fully realize until yesterday how nice having a true day off is. So now I feel very rested and ready for the week ahead. But I also feel  like I’ve been resting too much…I’m not great at sitting around for lon!While was baking this afternoon, my mom came home with this glorious gift: a diet cherry limeade. I squealed with joy. It was as wonderful as I imagined it would be. Maybe even better. Quick reading plug for the book it is sitting on top of: The Tipping Point, by Malcolm Gladwell. I read it a year ago and convinced my mom and dad to read it too. Gladwell is one of my favorite authors, just a complete writing genius, in my opinion. He is incredibly intelligent, well-read, and fascinating to read. I recommend any of his books or articles. I assembled my huaraches today (isn’t the purple cord fun?) and tried them out for few minutes outside on the grass and gravel road. I can already tell that it will be a big adjustment, especially when I move more fully to the road. I feel kind of ridiculous because when I run I have to lift my knees really high so that I land on the front of my foot, not the heel. I look like I’m riding a bike the way my legs go up and down. I got some tips from my brother so hopefully I won’t totally mess this up. More reports tomorrow when I try for a little bit longer!I was getting ready to make my lunch for work tomorrow and I stole this idea from my mom: red pepper sandwiches. It’s like a cross between a lettuce wrap (using a vegetable as the “bread”) and a sandwich (stuffing stuff on the inside and pressing shut). I filled mine with a mixture of ricotta and cottage cheeses, lettuce, and a bunch of fresh herbs-oregano, basil, and thyme to thicken and flavor the cheese mixture.  I’ve been trying to cut down on my carbs: less breads and sugars (from fruit) replaced with more protein. I still think that a well-rounded diet is important and I’m not entirely eliminating grains and starches, but I definitely want to do less for the sake of my blood sugars and insulin intake.

ahhh the real hurricane begins tomorrow when I lace those huaraches up for a real run. Wish me luck!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to hurricane huarache

  1. Brian says:

    Gladwell is fantastic! I’ve read all his books. Also Kevin and I are both randomly reading Born to Run right now – it’s very interesting. You’ll have to tell me how the huarache’s work out!

Leave a Reply

