basil tales

We still have copious amounts of basil running around this house, and there is only so much pesto a girl can make or put into salads. Although fresh basil pesto does make an excellent, homemade gift!I was at a coffee shop the other day and in amongst all their flavored syrups was a basil syrup. The barista said they made with fresh basil they grew themselves. So I thought, why not try and make my own? The first thing I put it in was black tea. Which in theory was a good idea, until  remembered that I hate sweet tea. Next go round, I put it in coffee and it was much better experience.First off: tie the basil into a bundle so there isn’t any chasing of stray basil leaves. When the syrup is finished, if you put the basil down the dish disposal it makes the whole kitchen smell like fresh basil.Put some water on the stove to boil. Add sweetener (or sugar if you don’t care about sugar content) and the basil bundle. Turn the stove off and let the basil steep for 20 minutes.When it is completely cooled, put in a container to store. It is great in coffee, tea(if you like sweet tea-most good southerners excluding myself do!) or poured over frozen fruit.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

