mini-vacation

Today I had a mini-vacation: no work, no commitments, nowhere I had to be. Not that my life super stressful or anything, but it was nice to have a relaxing day. Ok, that is only partly true. I actually got a little bored. But I stayed busy…made pesto, made dinner, played my flute for kicks, cleaned the pantry and the freezer. I’m not great at being inactive, I’ve decided. And when I began the pantry clean-out, I found my kimchi  jars. I think I had partly forgotten them, and partly tried to ignore them because I thought they might be disasters (they certainly didn’t look too appealing). But I decided I needed to know if my experiment had worked or just totally failed.

Verdict: it was a smashing success! At least as far as I’m concerned. I know kimchi is probably one of those things a lot of people are not easily thrilled about…I mean it is fermented cabbage, after all. I though it was really good though-spicy and tangy and sweet and salty.I had some for lunch, along with a mini “lasagna.” It was more an improvised like lasagna filling and no noodles: Morning Star crumbles, pizza sauce (out of tomato sauce), ricotta, and feta all nuked in the microwave for about a minute and wonderfully scrumptious.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

