Road trippin’

I kind of feel like I went to college all over again. Yesterday I drove 6 1/2 hours down to Jackson, TN to Union University to take my little brother to school. We had a grand time driving over together, with most of the time spent with me reading aloud to him from the Silmarillion (part of the Lord of the Rings). He has a super nice quad apartment with his own bedroom. My mom and I got him all set up and organized (mostly!) and made sure there was plenty of good things in the fridge and pantry for him to eat…like cookies and banana bread:)

Then while he had XC meetings my mom and I went to see “The Help.” I read the book and really enjoyed it, but I don’t think the movie was all that great. It was long-2 1/2 hours, none of the acting was great, or even that good, and they had to leave so much out because the book is massive. It was still entertaining, but I wouldn’t recommend spending money on it. We ate at Jason’s Deli before the movie, at 5:30. I felt kind of like a grandma eating that early!

I got to run on Union’s course this morning, and it was so lovely-fresh cut grass, temps were in the 70s, nice rolling hills…and then I nearly collided with the XC team as they practiced so I left the course and just ran around the town on the sidewalk. Not quite as idyllic, but still a nice change of pace!And then we said goodbye. Not so fun. I may or may not be counting down the days until either he comes home or I go visit!Lunch was a salad from Ruby Tuesday on the go. I guess it was kind of expensive because my mom told me to fill up my box with more food-a definite first, her telling me to eat more vegetables. And a Sonic drink was offered along the way (and a looong way it was), but I kind of felt bad that lunch was so pricey and it wasn’t even happy hour anymore…so yes, I forfeited my much-longed for diet cherry limeade for a salad. I can’t decide if it was a good decision or not.

Home again, minus one dear boy.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

