sweet goodbyes

Is there anything more summery than pink lemonade in a mason jar? I think not. Drinking it kind of made me feel like Rose Wilder (daughter of Laura Ingalls Wilder) at the 4th of July fair in town. I’m sure the pinkness of the lemonade comes from chemicals of some sort nowadays, but back then I wonder what  it came from? Raspberries?

Today is my little brother’s last day at home. Tomorrow my mom and I  journey to Tennessee to drop him of at his first year of college. It is a little bit surreal. I expect at least one round of tears out of either my mother or me over the next 2 days. But it is a road trip to TN, so it should be at least kind of fun. I’m hoping to get at least one much-craved diet cherry limeade from Sonic on the way. I’ve been craving one ever since I found out that they use sugar free cherry syrup. I just always thought it was syrup like out of the maraschino cherry jar.  Since my brother will be living in an apartment style dorm, and will probably be by himself most of the week (he’s going early for XC) I made him a trio of peanut butter banana breads so he can have some home-baked goodness.They were 3 mini loaves, one was plain peanut butter banana, and one with chopped pecans.But the best kind of all is the one that has chocolate chips in it. I can’t really think of a better combo that chocolate, banana, and peanut butter. Except maybe if you put more peanut butter on top of a slice. I’m off to pack and pack some snacks for the trip tomorrow!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

